Thanks To:

Scrap Yard: Innovators of Recycling  was made possible at the Jewish Museum of Maryland, in part, with generous support from the following:


Institute for Museum and Library Services

National Endowment for The Humanities

Boston Metals Co. in Memory of Morris Schapiro

The Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries

David Berg Foundation

Baltimore Scrap: David, Larry, Ken, and Joe Simon


The Gershowitz Family and Gershow Recycling

Integrated Shredder Technology

Diamond State Recycling Corporation

Commercial Insurance Associates

Arnold and Joyce Fruman

The Sandy Shapiro Charitable Fund

Sue and Jerry Kline

Deborah Zager, in loving memory of my father, Sammy Kahan, founder of Ansam Metals Corporation

Ray Aizen, Maryland Core, Inc.

Pinkert Family Foundation

ABC Box Company

Melvin A. Lipsitz Family Foundation

J. Solotken & Company

Ellen Kahan Zager and Jack Zager Philanthropic Fund

Robin Wiener and Roger Nehrer

Davis Industries

Howard Fields, in memory of my Pinkert grandad and uncles

ScrapWare Corporation

Atlantic Recycling Group

Dan Pinkert and Freddi Greenberg

Brian Shine, Manitoba Corporation

Kripke Enterprises

Neal Shapiro

Dale and Betsey Pinkert


SH Landsman & Sons

Ray and Nadine Weinstein

Jerome Kurman

Richard Friedman


Hoffberger Family Exhibition Endowment

Stanford Z. & Cory Rothschild Exhibition Endowment

Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Endowment


Curator: Zachary Paul Levine

Exhibit Design: Alchemy Studio

Fabrication: P&M Exhibits

Media Production: ChangingMedia, Media Combo, and P&M Exhibits

Website Design: ChangingMedia

Website Project Manager: Rachel Kassman

Drone and Still Photographer: Jeffrey G. Katz

Exhibit Brochure Design: Dellon Design

Project Manager: Tracie Guy-Decker

Registrar: Joanna Church

JMM Staff & Volunteers: Trillion Attwood, Joanna Church, Wendy Davis, Ilene Dackman-Alon, Tracey Dorfmann, Sue Foard, Laura Grant, Tracie Guy-Decker, Rachel Kassman, Alex Malischostak, Talia Makowsky, Marvin Pinkert, Lorie Rombro, Marisa Shultz, Paige Woodhouse

Consultants and Scholars: Alan M. Kraut, Leslie P. Lichtenberg, Adam D. Mendelsohn, Jonathan Z. S. Pollack, Susan Strasser, Ash Turner, Carmen Venable, Jill Vexler, Lee Shai Weissbach, Carl Abraham Zimring

Interns: Hannah Balik, Mallory Connaughton, Elana Neher, Megan Orbach, Ariella Shua, Ash Turner

Special Thanks: Deborah Cardin, ConservIt, Inc., Barbara Katz, Jeffrey G. Katz, Harry Katz, Jessica Konigsberg, David Simon, Neal Shapiro, Jill Vexler, Jack and Ellen Kahan Zager, Robin Weiner